We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

3D-printing with a granulat extruder

Atte Linna alinna

3D-printing with a granulat extruder

29/12/2019 at 16:27

Hi there!

I’ve been following Precious Plastic for about a year now and I have to say, it’s a wonderful project! One, I’d like to contribute to at some point. Currently, I’m in my last year of industrial design studies and I’ll start soon my Bachelors Thesis on designing a 3D-printable monocoque frame for an electric scooter.

I’m planning to actually print & test the frame next spring/summer. As my primary tool I will use my Hangprinter, that I’ve been developing the past 1.5 years. The Hangprinter is a frameless printer-concept by Torbjorn Ludvigsen. The printer consists of a base unit with all the electronics and motion mechanics, and three anchor points on ground level for dyneema lines, which are used to position the print head. It is a quite unique concept, but foremost it is easily scalable to (theoretically) any size needed by only extending the lines.

For more detailed information you can head over to http://www.hangprinter.org There is also plenty of information on the RepRap Forum

My printer has currently a 2.5 m tall tetrahedron frame, a heated print surface and the e3d-online SuperVolcano filament extruder attached to it. I did this summer two big print projects on it. One was a giant high heel for a finnish shoe designer and for the other project we printed the shell parts of a prototype robot. What I learned, was that the current FDM-technology is far too slow for a printer this big and of course that in long term it is not viable to print anything else than waste plastic.