We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

[Belated] Precious Plastic in CUHK

William wkhs

[Belated] Precious Plastic in CUHK

08/05/2017 at 14:19

Alright, so I guess I finally had some time to document this project. I am a pharmacy student. No you didn’t read me wrong… I guess everyone of us has to get some hobby, do we?

Great thanks to @sueyeekhor for writing a fabulous intro article for us. I am the technician of the team (and others are all girls, yay). I thankfully survived my final year, ward rounds and (nearly) a research project. Now this would be a long post and log of what we’ve done to build a set of machines in the CUHK (our uni). @sharma-sagar here you go!

Attachments:
8 replies
1 subscribers
0 saved
1 likes
sort on most likes
starter
08/05/2017 at 14:26

So I’m gonna start with the shredder first. We started designing the electronics back in Dec last year, and finished the whole thing functional in Mar. It’s hard but great fun too!

1. Laser-cut parts
We just sent out all the files to a manufacturer in Mainland, China. They offered us it done in 150-200 USD (transportation fee inclusive).

It was a great deal until I found they have the wrong thickness… yes it’s 5.43mm not 6mm.

You see that machining? It’s a mechanical engineerer from a lab helping us out to make some extra spacers to make up for the thickness gap. Then we burnt out two drill bits… (weird moment when you see a slot in the drill bit because the steel was too hard that it milled a track on it!)

Bring home msg 1: make sure you know the tolerance before placing orders (until we have parametric designs like OpenSCAD).

Bring home msg 2: buy G-O-O-D drill bits.

Attachments:
starter
08/05/2017 at 14:39

2. Frame

Never trust aluminium. Never, ever.