We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Making lumber with recycled plastic

Mike Harmon parseraider

Making lumber with recycled plastic

26/09/2015 at 08:48

I see everyone talking about making filimant for 3d printers. ANd the problem is keeping the light tolerance on diameter.
Maybe concentrate on weedeater string would help create a little backyard money for communitys.

My real question is when recycling plastic for making lumber or non food usage large items, is it possible to use all types of plastic at one time and be able to extrude it?

WOuld some types burn before others melted? I am thinking that you would have less tiem in sorting and be able to use it all to make non structural or load bearing items.

I think that a person could estimate per batch the amount of grade1 , grade 2 etc and maybe add more HPDE to keep brittleness down while getting rid of those water bottles.?????

I am totally new to this but I am going to be very soon releasing a KickStart project that involves injection molded parts and naturally looked into making my own parts and am amazed at what plastic can do.

Mike

4 replies
1 subscribers
0 saved
0 likes
sort on most likes
helper
29/09/2015 at 08:08

Hi Mike,

indeed a lot of talking about printer filament, I think 90% is still working with PLA, because printing real plastics is major league. Making and use recycled plastic filament is still for the real die-hards :). But someone has to start with it…

Mixing plastics will work for injectionmolding, but something to consider, is it’s not recycable anymore.

Kees

new
03/05/2016 at 15:08

And not all plastics are compatible between them. My suggestion is to keep sorting and work with the same polymer as much as possible.
Wood composites exist in blends, around 20% to 50% wood powder with HDPE.

I wouldn’t know how you could work that on the machines made available through this website and am commenting on what can be done based on my experience

helper