We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Molds made out of wood ?

Tagged: , , ,

Vincent v-d-s

Molds made out of wood ?

06/01/2020 at 20:29

Hi there !

I’m brand new here, and first of all, I’d like to convey to all of you my warm greetings and to express my admiration for your work.

My name is Vincent, I’m a designer and I’d like to experiment with recycled plastic.

Since it’s easier and cheaper to use wood than metal with my fablab’s CNC router, I’d like to know if it’s possible to inject melted plastic into wooden molds. The ignition temperature of wood is between 250 and 300°C. And most of the plastics fusion points (correct me if I’m wrong) are below these temperatures, so theoretically it could work, no ?

I thank you in advance for your replies.

Best Regards

9 replies
4 subscribers
0 saved
0 likes
sort on most likes
starter
06/01/2020 at 21:46

Hi there !

There are some experiments with injection and wood moulds here: http://onearmy.world/community/forums/topic/portable-desktop-injection-machine/

Seeing those tests, I’d say using strong wood and foil tape should work reasonably well. I’ve never tested injection but here’s a write-up about my experiments with MDF wood and compression (it’s in french) : https://wiki.lghs.be/projets:recylab:compression:tuile-hexagone

starter
06/01/2020 at 22:01

Thanks Dr Skullster !

Well… seams to work ! the tape being a plus though…
Now I’m really looking forward to try this.

Thanks again !

hero
06/01/2020 at 22:01

@v-d-s
You will have a pretty bad time trying to take your parts out of the wood mold without destroying the parts, or the mold.
You could try curing the wood with oil, or applying a layer of epoxy resin, but molten plastic might end up sticking to the resin or the quality could be affected by the oil in the wood.

starter
06/01/2020 at 22:14

Thanks Olivier

Yeap…You have an excellent point.

Maybe I’ll find something useful among one of these: