We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Need help finishing Shredder

Marvin Schwendener marvins

Need help finishing Shredder

02/02/2018 at 07:56

Hello everyone

I just started to work on a shredder that has been built by my predecessor and has some serious design flaws. I’m doing my swiss civil service in indonesia on a organic farm/education center for organic agriculture. There are plans to implement a recycling strategy to put all the plastic waste (which is abundant in indonesia) to new use. My background is civil engineering so I don’t really have the knowledge to build machines but I hope with a little bit of help of you and some research it will be enough to get the shredder working. (We also have a finished compression oven which is working and waiting for shredded plastic)

The problem:

So basically there is no money available for the project. Everything had to be as cheap as possible. However they did spend money on the motor and the laser cut parts. What they didn’t really plan through was the gear box/speed remover. The Motor has 1.5hp and 1450 rpm. They put in two v-belts each with a 1:5 ratio resulting in a 1:25 reduction. Now the problem is pretty obvious. While the v-belt reduces the speed to the right rpm it does not deliver any torque. It’s just enough to shred though some soft pet. But it clogs right away once it reaches harder parts like the top of the bottle. The small wheel of the speed reducer is spinning through since the friction of the v-belt is just not enough.