Support our newest Precious Plastic campaign 🍌

Best CAD program

This topic contains 10 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile gravatar of Pietman Kahl Pietman Kahl 5 days ago.

Profile gravatar of Derek WilliamsDerek Williams
giltron

Best CAD program

12/04/2016 at 11:47

I want to look over the file but i am very new to this may i ask what program is best to view the files.

Profile gravatar of RedGurrillia
12/04/2016 at 14:00

There are different files, witch should make it possible to open them with virtually any cad program. I used SolidWorks 2014 to open them, worked oke, import diagnostics had a little struggle with it, but worked fine anyway.

I used the STEP file, because in my experience those succeed the best, on trying to open the SAT file, my program crashed, and the others can’t be opened by (my version of) Solid Works

Grtz, RedG

Toggle replies
Profile gravatar of Derek Williams
13/04/2016 at 03:28

I ended up Getting AutoCAD 2017

Toggle replies
Profile gravatar of Mike Pogson
17/04/2016 at 21:23

I have AutoCAD2017 but it doesn’t recognise any of the files :/ what am I doing wrong?

Toggle replies
18/04/2016 at 08:38

mrpogson open up AutoCAD 2017 then once you are in you will have to select the file through the program it will ask you if you want to convert it you should select yes.

Toggle replies
Profile gravatar of Mike Pogson
18/04/2016 at 10:12

Thanks @giltron, do I want to open or import the file?

Is it possible to get the file as a .dtd (Design Tools Draw File for use with TechSoft 2D Design)?

Toggle replies
18/04/2016 at 10:22

mrpogson once you have AutoCAD 2017 running on the first page under the Get Started section go through the open files tab.

Toggle replies
Profile gravatar of Jay
02/03/2017 at 03:18