We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Class Project in Canada

This topic contains 15 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 4 months ago.

Amyl aghanem

Class Project in Canada

12/03/2019 at 17:12

Hi folks
I am a professor of Chemical Engineering in Canada, and I teach a course on Polymer Engineering. Next semester I will be assigning a term project for the students to create a recycled polymer (plastic) product. That is how I found this page!

I do have at tiny budget and I plan to build some of the equipment used here. I would love to collaborate with anyone in a similar situation. My hope is to publicize this project and to access more funding to expand. I will provide more info as I can.

Amyl

15 replies
2 subscribers
1 saved
2 likes
sort on most likes
starter
16/03/2019 at 23:26

Hey I’m an electrical engineer technician, in Ottawa. If there’s anything i could help with let me know

starter
17/03/2019 at 00:17

there is unfortunately nothing really ready – yet – for the class room. to keep things simple and safe, you can :

– try getting plastic from the bazaar, there’s plenty of already shredded plastic, otherwise find a way to cut house hold plastics with a mixer or scissors. there is always ebay or amazon to get ‘pellets’ for cheap

– as soon you have it, the next stage is to form it, there are some cheap options, for instance a small oven, a mold done with wood pressed with nuts and bolts, takes some afternoons to get something done, youtube is your best friends, checkout this : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUR6_bQLU-E

– there are also ongoing efforts for smaller sized machines, here (a little messy, scroll down a little)

possibly by the end of the year, there might be something more ready for the class room. at the moment most commercial offers start at 2500 $.

starter
17/03/2019 at 00:24