We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Developing icosa.haus at Project Kamp

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Daan 3 years ago.

Daan vandijk

Developing icosa.haus at Project Kamp

25/05/2018 at 15:50

Hi Dave and everybody here,

I am going to jump in right where I think it makes most sense; what it is I can immediately offer to Project Kamp. The short version; an open source dwelling structure that I have been working on since 2015.

The slightly longer; the design of icosa.haus has known many digital iterations and some physical versions and the ‘get a piece of land’ conundrum you have taken upon yourself is where I am currently struggling the most.

The concept initially started as a reaction to the WikiHouse project that was all the rage a few years ago. Although I really liked the idea of releasing an open source building online for everybody to download, building it out of expensive, wasteful plywood with extremely expensive and hard to move CNC routers was what annoyed me about it.

At the same time the Science Gallery in Dublin had an active open call called ‘Home’ so it got me thinking; could I build a sort of hybrid between a product and a building? The product would be a set of instructions and a limited amount of dedicated, shippable objects and elements that would allow anyone to build the structure with otherwise locally available materials.
I imagined a structure that could be mounted or places anywhere; rooftops, forests, campsites, backyards etc. and to remain as flexible as possible I would need the smalles footprint possible. This lead to a design that derives from a tilted icosahedron; a familiar shape with excellent untapped architectural potential.