We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

extrusion screw v4 ?

Tagged: 

Anonymous

extrusion screw v4 ?

03/07/2018 at 21:28

hey @davehakkens, @xxxolivierxxx

any news on machine developments in regard of v4 ?

i have around 6 sets to make and so i started building a machine to turn the screw with a 4th axis since it’s 6 hours alone to do it manually on a metal lathe. currently my set goes out for 380 euro whereby the most of it goes for materials, 70 euro for the chromoly, 100 for heatbands, another 50 euro for pid controllers and the controller terminal (complete! with breakers, proper grounding,..), another 40 euro for the nozzle section, filter and mounts, and the rest for extreme underpaid labour 🙂

anyways, if you have better idea let me know please!!

ps: i have no experience with the extrusion itself, just the machining and testing.

bazar reference (outdated)

4 replies
2 subscribers
0 saved
0 likes
sort on most likes

In reply to: extrusion screw v4 ?

hero
19/07/2018 at 12:03

@anne-barbier

1 – No news for V4 yet, its still a work in progress

2 – HOLY SHIT, is that a Nema motor on the floor?

19/07/2018 at 12:40

@xxxolivierxxx: thanks, Dave told me he’s working in direction of doing filament (good choice 🙂 and so same goes for us. Most requests (10+) are about the extrusion section and so i decided also to make some invest in building a good product for (full automatic extrusion system, with water baths, coolers, hell of sensors,…) but first i have to develop the machines to build such thing.

1. contacting 3D – print startups/hubs: done = interest in the machine is high and i’m currently compiling a final list of requirements for such machine.
2. development of a special 4th axis, for machining the extrusion screw, status: 3th prototype, the next will use a 1200W Servo (nema-34 below is not good enough)
3. development of a lathe steady-rest tool which follows the spindel = crazy, and an adjustable lathe tail stock