We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Forum issues

This topic contains 20 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Dave Hakkens 4 weeks ago.

Mick Percy deeemm

Forum issues

21/07/2019 at 16:45

On numerous occasions I have posted replies to topics that have not displayed. It gives me no error message, no indication of what the issue is, nothing. I have then tried to repost only to be told that I have already posted the same thing. This is getting pretty frustrating. I’m at least 110% sure I am not alone in this issue.
I’ve just spent ages trying to post an answer to the shredder auto reverse thread, including a schematic. It’s a simple solution that will work for most cases using an inverter, it just uses two relays. No electronics and no encoder pulse wheel are required. I am sure that people would be interested in it. I’m very happy to share my knowledge, this kind if stuff is what I do for a living.
But, my post does not display. Even though the post summary shows my post as the last post. So after wasting far too much time trying to edit my post so that it’s not detected as a duplicate I’ve simply given up trying to share it. My solution is now lost. (it’s actually right there in your SQL database if you know where to look).

So Instead I’ve decided to write THIS post. to let you know of the problem.
I want to let you know that WordPress is NOT a good solution for this kind of site. It’s great for sharing photos of your spoon collection or cake recipes, but it does not scale very well into a community site like this one. There are other much better scripts for running forums with, you should really consider using one of them. Most of them include migrators to migrate your SQL Database so that you get to retain all of your existing data.