We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Hello from Canada!

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Eric Jon Oler 2 years ago.

Eric Jon Oler jonoleric

Hello from Canada!

13/12/2016 at 17:27

Hi, everyone! I am a student at Calgary, Alberta, Canada. I love all of Dave’s projects (including many of the old ones), especially Precious Plastic. I want to be more involved with this, but I’m unfortunately broke and living with my parents (pls don’t judge…we all have our challenges 🙂 ), so I can’t really make the machines or anything…Any advice? Also, I love languages, design, and especially education. I LOVE EDUCATION! So much (sorry for yelling). I think I can safely say that one of the biggest problems facing global society today is a lack of proper education. Sorry for ranting, but if you’re still reading by this point, thank you very much! Love you all, and super happy to be a part of the community!

5 replies
0 subscribers
0 saved

In reply to: Hello from Canada!

new
16/12/2016 at 09:58

Hi Eric,
I recently moved to Salt Spring Island in BC. I was able to find a group of makers on this tiny island and we are working together to build a couple of these machines. I’ve already got 4 motors donated to me by other members of the team!

I would suggest trying to find other makers in Calgary. There has got to be some sort of makerspace or online group you could team up with? Maybe a university group? You can always be a leader,inspirer, or instigater, if you don’t have the tools or know-how to do whatever it is you want to do. Good luck! and let me know if you need a motor 😛

warrior
16/12/2016 at 21:18

Welcome to Precious Plastic @jonoleric, we are glad to have you here.