We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

How should I go about choosing a motor?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  mc007 6 days ago.

Tanner wolfden99

How should I go about choosing a motor?

13/09/2018 at 14:09

Hey there, recently I’ve been having trouble finding the right motor for my extruder machine and was wondering what you people might suggest. So far I’ve outlined that I need a 60-70 RPM gear reduction motor with a torque of at least 6-7 Kg*cm.

I’ve found a couple of motors that seem to fit this description, but I want to verify that they will work before I purchase them.
Motor option 1
Motor option 2

Thanks for any help in advance!

5 replies
1 subscribers
0 saved
starter
13/09/2018 at 20:18

@sonik Thanks for your reply I think i’ll go with the one you suggested. I’m fairly new to building machines in general and was getting a little confused by all of the options and specifications motors can have.

Thanks for the help!

helper
13/09/2018 at 20:47

Attention, the link is not the motor i have, this is a 12V Motor with 6 Amps = 72Watts, mine has the double power (24V,6A) and i would say that is the absolute minimum for the extruder, and still, i would not be surprised when i burn it.

dedicated
13/09/2018 at 21:31

@wolfden99 if soniks motor seems too hot, just apply basic machine building principles : always use 3 time the power rating you actually need 🙂