We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Insulating extruder pipe from frame /Netherlands

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Peter Dick 1 week ago.

Peter Dick peterdick

Insulating extruder pipe from frame /Netherlands

22/11/2019 at 12:06

Hi I’m a student from The Netherlands and i’ve finished making an extruder but there are a lot of things that can be improved.
One of those things is quite important because i keep burning myself on the frame that gets hot because everything is made out of steel or aluminium so they conduct their heat. I’m going to put a sort of frame over the pipe but this doesnt stop the conduction to other parts of the whole machine.

Now my question is: what do you guys use as an insulator for the pipe so the heat does not conduct to other parts of the frame.

Greetings,

Peter Dick

Attachments:
3 replies
2 subscribers
1 saved
1 likes
sort on most likes
warrior
22/11/2019 at 21:33

Since you are using a modular frame, maybe switch to the more typical cantilevered configuration by moving the outboard support just to the left of the hopper. You can then wrap the hot end as shown in the @kaboom photo. If that does not reduce the burns enough, you can start adding thermal isolation to the support path. You can also cover the hot portions of the frame with wood so it does not burn you.

The number of heater bands is an interesting topic. I wonder if you can add a probe into the PID to monitor the duty cycle once the system is at temperature.

Yes, very nice build

starter
23/11/2019 at 01:59