We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Looking to Construct a Shredder out of Plastic!

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Tyler Linner 2 days ago.

Tyler Linner tylerlinner

Looking to Construct a Shredder out of Plastic!

02/09/2018 at 05:40

Hi everyone,

I am a graduate student pursuing a Master of Arts in Sustainable Communities at Northern Arizona University in Flagstaff, Arizona, USA. My thesis project is centered on the circular economy, and I feel Precious Plastic is a great tool to explore this.

I’m researching the feasibility of building a Precious Plastic shredder while replacing as much steel as possible with cheap recycled plastic. The idea would be to reduce the cost of new shredders as well as put our plastic waste to a good use.

I have secured $7500 in funding through two grants (NAU Center for Ecosystem Science and Society and the City of Flagstaff) and one private donation. This has paid for a human powered shredder, compression oven, two molds, and an extruder, along with minimal wages.

I’ve got the shredder mechanism from Precious Plastic USA and will be ordering the extruder soon. The shredder will be mounted onto a Schwinn Exerciser stationary bike converted to 4.6:1 gearing (28T to 28T then 14T to 65T). I am working with the local bike shop to make that all work on the stock flywheel. I also got a used oven from Habitat for Humanity and will soon have a car jack from my uncle. I got the same oven controller that is used in the Precious Plastic build video. I’ve also been collecting discarded bed frames for building tables. It’s looking pretty good!

Anyway, I wanted to reach out to you all and let you know what I’m doing. I’ve got a potential source for ABS locally, which I suspect will be a good start for building the shredder parts. Of course the blades will still be steel.