We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

mods to make machines safer/ meet OHS

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Melodie Murphy 7 months ago.

Laura Strentz lstrentz

mods to make machines safer/ meet OHS

28/05/2018 at 10:09

Hello.
I talked with Ken Sulman of Tassie who modified the shredder (taller hopper, kill switch, etc) to make it safer. He  I’ve also chatted with Monash Uni.

I am new to the PP community so will be grateful to be pointed to a thread that addresses and ideally has the plans to build each machine modified with Occ Health Safety in mind.  We aspire to have a PP facility on our school campus.

Many thanks,
Laura

7 replies
5 subscribers
1 saved
2 likes
sort on most likes
starter
15/08/2018 at 10:21

Hi Laura,

We are building the shredder for commercial sale here in Darwin and the higher hopper and kill switch are very important, we are also adding some safety/warning signage.

starter
15/08/2018 at 10:24

I forgot to add, one of the hopper designs we are still considering for our next batch has a bend in it which means the blades can’t be reached from the top of the hopper.

The issue of the spinning axle is another safety concern we address with a simple cover.

dedicated
15/08/2018 at 11:18

@morethantencents You are building shredders, you sell them and you have no idea about safety regulations ???

starter
15/08/2018 at 11:41

@sonik that is not actually what I said…

I am very aware of OHS requirements in a workplace setting, as are the fabricators and engineer I have working on the shredders and this is why we have added the modifications I mentioned in my post and are looking at further modifications in future batches. (Also, all our machines are tested and electrically tagged by a licensed electrician before shipping.)