We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Perler beads & 3Doodler refills using PP

This topic contains 11 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Michael 4 years ago.

Anna Thomas annathomas

Perler beads & 3Doodler refills using PP

03/03/2017 at 14:21

Hi,

I came across the idea of creating art using perler beads, and thought – we could use Precious Plastic for the same?

Perler beads are used for making plastic art that looks something like Cross stitch.

I am new to Precious Plastic and have not yet started on any projects, but if I am to make a mould it would be for Perler beads.

Also can’t we create refills for 3Doodler pens?

Attachments:
11 replies
0 subscribers
0 saved
starter
13/03/2017 at 08:10

I have not built any of the Precious Plastic machines yet, but I have done some experimentation with LDPE and HDPE bags. The big problem I had was that when the thin layers of plastic fused together in the oven, air bubbles got trapped between the layers. Even clamping the hot plastic in a form, did not get the air out. Maybe fusing several layers together with an iron, as malawi suggested, will work. But what I want to try, is feeding plastic bags directly into the Extruder machine, to see if the screw will force the air out of the bags.