We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Plastic + Recycling + Architecture = Homes for all

Tagged: ,

Eduardo Matheus Figueira eduardomatheus

Plastic + Recycling + Architecture = Homes for all

02/05/2017 at 08:06

Hi, i’d like to start saying i’m sorry about my english, but i thing you’ll understand. Ok.

My name is Eduardo, i’m from Brasil, and i’m an Architecture student, and last year i saw the precious plastics project, wich gave me an idea, but i don’t know much if this is plausible, so, please, help me out.

Around the world, there is some projects, and even concrect things, about plastic recycling and civil construction, like “conceptos plasticos” from Colombia, that turns plastic waste into entire houses, it all in 5 days without specialized (labor?).

In Brasil, there is an established industry of plastic roof tiles, wall coverings and other types of uses for the plastic in peoples houses, mostly recycled.

So, i started to think about create a movement, trying to build some machines, and, at least to get started, create cooperatives, that, today, only produces cheap products with a lot of work, allowing poor people to have their own buisiness and expanding the access to plastic products, and, in the future, even building houses like the “conceptos plasticos” ones, reducing the lack of housing

My city have 3 big universities and other 3 small, including 3 architecture courses, material engeneering, 4 civil engeneering courese, 3 mecanic engeneering courses, besides tecnic courses.

So, what do you guys think about it? how far from reality are my thoughts? i know that the conceptos plasticos’ bricks are made from extrusion, but in huge machines..

If someone get curious about conceptos plasticos: https://conceptosplasticos.com/

thank you!

17 replies
2 subscribers
0 saved
2 likes
sort on most likes
new
10/05/2017 at 15:13

Hello friend!