Support our newest Precious Plastic campaign 🍌

We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Precious plastic in grade 7 classroom

This topic contains 15 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Dimitri 1 day ago.

Yann Brahic rabadswompe

Precious plastic in grade 7 classroom

28/08/2017 at 19:20

Hello All,
I have been teaching science and technology for 20 years now and needed someting new. As luck would have it, my school needed a program to enrich the science curriculum for science orientated kids… Cue Preciousplastic!

My schredder is complete and functionnal with a 1hp motor and a few security (!!) mods.
I am currently working on the wiring of the injection and compression. Extrusion Is in the plans but will wait a year before we build it (mastering the 1st 3 will be enough).

Will post pics soon.

Yann

warrior
30/11/2017 at 19:40

@rabadswompe,

It is great that your are integrating Precious Plastic into science curriculum, keep it up. Also don’t forget the photos!!

Toggle replies
starter
02/12/2017 at 04:43

Great to hear. My school had wood,metal and auto shops,now they could use Plastic shop. It would be cool to have as a senior project to build a PP workspace and donate it to another school.Just think how many different skills the kids would learn and at the same time get another school started.

Toggle replies
starter
02/12/2017 at 07:51

Great project
What is grade 7 😀 how old are the pupils.

The aim here is the fabrication itself? and what do you do after the machine are ready? I mean as courses… How is stick whit the official education Programm of Canada.

My opinion is that it could be also a post in idea section.
One of the PP objectif is to be déveloped, know and used…. What is better than education and school to have a great and deep impact. I remember the Dave video in a museum or exposition where they have made a manual shredder and an injection machine.