We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

scaled down version of the injector??

This topic contains 7 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 4 months ago.

Bridget Kennedy bridgetk

scaled down version of the injector??

01/03/2019 at 02:42

Hi, I’m wanting to make a  half scale injection machine. I’m an artist and wanting to make small scale jewellery like objects for a participatory art project highlighting the environmental issues of plastic and our human contribution to this planetary mess. Has anyone made a smaller version of the injection machine, or can see any issues with doing this? I’m not a mechanical type of person and am hoping to hand fabricate all the components myself as much as possible (I’m a jewellery/object installation artist). Look forward to hearing your thoughts.

7 replies
0 subscribers
0 saved
2 likes
sort on most likes
starter
01/03/2019 at 03:03

hi,
yes, we’ve worked out something in this direction, see here : https://bazar.preciousplastic.com/en/listings/705196-desktop-injection-machine. There are also a few machines on other markets, see ‘desktop injection’. In a couple of weeks we have there another type of machine, screw based. It’s actually stupid simple and pretty cheap to do when you have some equipment (lathe, good welder). Sorry for the self-promo, I wish I could have pointed to more machines 🙂

warrior
01/03/2019 at 07:13

Some additional discussion of smaller machine concepts here https://davehakkens.nl/community/forums/topic/portable-desktop-injection-machine/ . Note, when you are planning the volume of the machine, you do not get the full stroke volume in the final plastic product.

warrior
01/03/2019 at 13:35

Scaling down makes a lot of sense. Personally I think the PP injector is quite an ambitious size for a manual machine and it’s hard to use it at its full capacity.