We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Share your shredder info!

This topic contains 9 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Halim Widya Kusuma 5 months ago.

Adele Conte adeleutfpr

Share your shredder info!

29/09/2018 at 15:36

Hello, everyone!

I am a Mechanical Engineering student from Brazil willing to build a shredder for my thesis work.
One step of my thesis work is benchmarking.

WIll you please share your shredder information for my research?
It will be shared with the community after the work is done!

Please answer me with:
 – Photos of your shredder
 – Dimensions (height, length and width)
 – Weight
 – Motor specifications
 – Features/Highlights
– Production cost/Selling cost

I believe this topic will be useful for many people afterwords!

9 replies
3 subscribers
1 saved
2 likes
sort on most likes
dedicated
29/09/2018 at 22:01

Hi Adele, the cost depends on the country you live  I think you will start asking to a laser cutter company the cost sending them the files that you find on the PP download kit (I buy it at 340 euros complete) , than you can ask for the motor reducer   In that case I can suggest you that is sufficient a 1100w mono phase with 28 rpm or a 750w with 17 RPM but the costs is almost the same(about 370euros) and the weight too. For the frame cost it depend on the material  you can ask for steel frame or for extruded aluminium like the one I use,  in this case the cost is about 150 euros. 

starter
10/10/2018 at 20:51

Is 28 or 27 rpm fast enough?  I read 70 rpm was ideal?

dedicated
10/10/2018 at 21:03

It is fast enough and allow you to use just, a 1.1 KW motor, so cheaper and lighter than a 2.2 KW, you can use a 47 rpm but you will need more power (1.5 or 1.8kw), as you, can see in many videos when the speed is too high the bottles jump up and they don’t be shredded, you need something to push them, instead with 28 rpm I rare this appens.

starter
10/10/2018 at 22:54