We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Some ideas and questions

Anne Kern annek

Some ideas and questions

11/02/2018 at 18:15

Being new and enthusiastic, I studied the forum quiet a lot, still I am not sure where the right place would be to participate with the following questions or suggestions. Would be nice if someone (taking this post as example)could help me with that.

1.) Is it possible with the injector to push out only small quantity of melted plastic, then stop for a time and then small quantity again? (Overheating?)
-So one could create little mountains and then press them by hand in flat “circles” (or would they cool out to quick?)
-Maybe even using simple molds (wormed up before?)with engravings (little mountain on mold, press by hand, get stamp of engraving?)
Simple molds could be out of plaster or soapstone (very easy to handle and engrave/can stand some heat)?

2.) Would it be possible to create sort of a pistol for the extrusion machine (like huge 3d-doodler), that one could hold in hand and move/start and stop plastic flow? That would increase a lot the creative possibilities I believe.

3.) I understood it is not easy to work with PET due to quiet high and precise temperature if I remember well. Is PET also for other reasons difficult to work with?

4.) Does anyone know/have an idea which plastic is so called and sold “Shrink Plastic/Shrinkies”, how can I recognize it?
Shrink plastic, transparent and colored is sold for crafting. It’s characteristic is that at a temperature around 100 degrees it shrinks and gets much thicker, warm one can completely flatten it then with e.g. a book or form it.
I tried, inspired by the youtube video, to upcycle quiet some plastic I supposed would work but it didn’t have really comparable results. The “Shrinkiepaper” does not say what these plastics characteristics or name is.