We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Stainless Steel in Shredder

This topic contains 31 replies, has 13 voices, and was last updated by  Tom 2 months ago.

Bill billa14

Stainless Steel in Shredder

11/07/2018 at 15:20

Using Stainless Steel in the shredder is a real NO NO
I have been using mine for about 6 months now and has worn badly
The teeth have about an 1/8″ gap in front of them now so not cutting well at all and the sides well there is about 18thou gap on each side of the teeth to the guide
If you are going to build one please make sure you use a lot harder steel of some sort to lessen the wear

31 replies
8 subscribers
0 saved
5 likes
sort on most likes
11/07/2018 at 16:58

hi,
could you please add some pictures please ? it’s a sensitive topic for many of us…

11/07/2018 at 17:53

for now you could reduce wear as described here. i have no long-term data on this but using classic cutting tool basics seems definitely feasible.

@davehakkens, @xxxolivierxxx, would be nice to have at least a link to hand picked list of important forum topics in the public ‘machines’ section of the site to avoid exactly this sort of desaster. 200 euro average price tag on the laser cut with 6 months lifespan is more likely what most of us can’t effort :-). I am already afraid about that my clients re-claim their money from me…
g

warrior
11/07/2018 at 19:28

I’ll set this topic as sticky. Unfortunately, I can’t speak on regards of inox steel usage on the shredders because all shredders I have build are made with torched Mild Steel and they show zero signs of wear, even without applying Guenter’s knive upgrade

starter
13/07/2018 at 01:03