We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

Starting a plastic recycling effort in Hawaii

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Anonymous 1 year ago.

Abe abekowitz

Starting a plastic recycling effort in Hawaii

29/04/2019 at 20:08

Aloha everyone!

I’ve been learning and ruminating on exactly how I am to start up recycling plastic.

My plan is to collect #2 plastic to start and 3d print items to sell in local stores. I have a great community behind me on this! Small businesses have agreed to collect plastic for me and sell the goods I make!

I have big plans, but am doing my best to start simple. I am an established local artist on Kauai and don’t have a lot of time available for the build process. I have some support pledged to fund purchasing machines and a location offered to me to put a shipping container to work out of.

It’s really enticing getting things off the ground! I can’t wait to start recycling!

4 replies
1 subscribers
0 saved
1 likes
sort on most likes
warrior
30/04/2019 at 17:10

What a great place to start up a recycling effort. Not sure how you will be 3D printing with HDPE. You probably saw this thread using PET https://davehakkens.nl/community/forums/topic/the-first-3d-printer-using-pet-water-bottle/ . One item that might be popular and would consume a lot of recyclables are the small patio tables such as this https://davehakkens.nl/community/forums/topic/coffee-table-2/ . Every condo should have an ocean friendly table on their lanai.

If you need help, The PP V4 team just spent a Dutch winter in an unheated warehouse…It may not be hard to convince someone come out and help

starter
30/04/2019 at 18:24