Support our newest Precious Plastic campaign 🍌

We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

The Green Engineers: Machine Builder in California

This topic contains 11 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by  Steven Mosbrucker 1 week ago.

Steven Mosbrucker thegreenengineers

The Green Engineers: Machine Builder in California

18/10/2017 at 18:31

Hey my name is Steven Mosbrucker. I am the sole owner operator of a R&D/Manufacturing startup called The Green Engineers based out of a community shop called tech shop in San Jose, California in United States. Me personally i am a Mechanical Engineer student at San Jose State University coming up on my last year of academic classes then the whole next year dedicated to my senior project on recycling plastic.

Currently i am working on 3 products:
Shredder: Shreds plastic into shreds to be used in the filament maker.
Filament Maker: Takes in plastic shreds and makes 3D printer filament.
3D Printer: Large 3D printer made out of sustainable materials

Progress:
Shredder: Currently starting production
Filament Maker: Prototype in production for 2 years. Needs design update for final version
3D Printer: Designed. prototyping not yet started.

Development blogs on http://www.thegreenengineers.com website:
Shredder: Shredder Blog
Filament Maker: 3D Printer Filament Maker Blog

helper
18/10/2017 at 18:40

Shredder
I call the shredder the reclaimer.
The current design uses standard 1055 or A36 steel
Dimensions are 6″(inch) x 6″ x 3.5″ chamber
Drive shaft is a .75″ x .75″ square shaft that uses 1045 or A36 steel
Blades are .25″ thick and a total of 24 blades per shredder.
The design uses the old school inward rotating blades shearing/crushing style.

Currently starting production. Busy optimizing production process. Currently available for pre-order on my website. Coming to Precious Plastic Bazar very soon after i begin production at full speed.

Toggle replies
helper
18/10/2017 at 18:51