We've just launched our map. Add yourself by clicking here!

close

V4 BeyondPlastic – [MATERIALS]

This topic contains 13 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Fernanda 3 months ago.

Jannis dasjannis

V4 BeyondPlastic – [MATERIALS]

31/01/2019 at 09:58

Using Urban Food Waste Streams to make biodegradable materials. – Biodegradable, because to us, it’s the most important and common property a material in a world of short living objects should have.

This is an open collection of the materials we worked with so far or are researching right now.

MATERIALS
Wheat Bran
Potato Peels
Experiments

13 replies
7 subscribers
3 saved
5 likes
sort on most likes
starter
21/02/2019 at 13:59

Hellooo!

I’m Alistair, from England. I’ve been following Precious Plastics for years but have recently looking into this exact topic (procrastinating whilst trying to find a job). I have a masters in biotechnology so I know where to look to find out information, but I live in a flat in Bristol with no real access to a physical research space – but you guys do!

The route of my thinking was to replace polystyrene/styrofoam trays used in the food takeaway industry with a foamed starch batter, baked in heated compression molds. The addition of lignin from waste wood provides additional strength. There are some recipes here:

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/257616592_Effects_of_starch_types_on_the_properties_of_baked_starch_foams

https://www.agriculturejournals.cz/publicFiles/241_2012-CJFS.pdf

The starch can be sourced from potato processing plant wastewater (from potato slice washing and peels) and concentrated to the desired levels by centrifugation.

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/222064560_Getting_value_from_wastewater_by-products_recovery_in_a_potato_chips_industry

I would love to help develop this with you if you’re interested!

Cheers,

Alistair

starter
24/05/2019 at 07:36

Helloooo,